5 responses
is there a way to "undo" this coding? if i don't want it to be 16pt font, but want the dynamic / different font for signature/email body, what do i do to go back?
I'm not sure what the original value is, but you can try "defaults write com.apple.mail MinimumHTMLFontSize 12" (or any number) and see what looks right. You might be able to Google to see what the default size is if you really care.
'defaults read' on an unmodified system does say 12 as the base setting, yep. This still works in Catalina.
Unfortunately this does not seem to work with Big Sur. defaults read com.apple.mail MinimumHTMLFontSize returns: The domain/default pair of (com.apple.mail, MinimumHTMLFontSize) does not exist and consequentelly defaults write com.apple.mail MinimumHTMLFontSize 16 has no effects. If someone has any idea on how to make this work for Big Sur I'd really appreciated it.
I tried this solution on Big Sur and nothing happens. Some of my emails come in at the font I have set under preferences but others, especially from my university, come in tiny print and I have to push the Bigger button each time for each individual email. Is there any way to set it up where the email comes in with the font I set in the Mail preferences regardless of who is sending it? Thanks, Debbie